Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
Forestier, Mathurin (fl. c. 1500)
Veni Sancte Spiritus EMP0412 £3.75
SAATTB Scoring legend Pentecost (Whitsun) - Hymn ISMN M-2056-0412-7
The piece was printed in Novum et insigne opus musicum...Nürnberg, 1537 (RISM 1537/1), where it was attributed to Josquin, and many ms sources are simply copied from this widely distributed print. The attribution is credible, for the piece is in the typical Josquin style - the so-called sequence-chain form, with music repeated for the pairs of text lines (as in the chant) - and with a pair of canons: the Discantus and Tenor sing the paraphrased chant, while Quintus and Bassus have related but independent material. The remaining two voices, Contratenor and Sextus, are freely composed.