Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter

Liturgical occasion

Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
General use
Anonymous, Mass of the Cyprus MS (Turin J.II.9) EMP0271 £5.00
SST/SAT Scoring legend Mass Ordinary - Ed: Bob Mitchell (Manuscript edition) ISMN M-2056-0271-10
The only cyclic mass in the well-known Cypriot manuscript, now in the library at Turin. from possibly as early as 1410. This edition was commissioned for the first Schola Polyphonica summer school in Cyprus in July 1994 and performed at Ayia Kyriaki, Paphos.
Davy, Richard, Salve Regina Show the score EMP0763 £4.00
SSATTB Scoring legend Marian Antiphon ISMN M-2056-0763-10
One of the 15 settings of Salve Regina in the Eton Choirbook. In Eton use, this text was required for the final Marian Antiphon each day during Lent (sic) but could also be sung at any time.
Merulo, Claudio, Magna enim sunt iudicia tua EMP1077 £2.00
SAATTB Scoring legend Respond ISMN M-2056-1077-7
One of several new pieces by Merulo which we are publishing for the International Academy of Sacred Music 2010 in Venice. The text is a Respond in August, and thus occupies a somewhat obscure place in the liturgy. It could well be political in origin. 'For thy judgments, O Lord, are great, and thy words cannot be expressed: For thou didst magnify thy people, O Lord, and didst honour them.' Wisdom 17, 1; 19,20