Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
a 16: see description Scoring legend
Gabrieli, Giovanni, O quam gloriosa a 16 EMP1278 £5.80
Assumption BVM (August 15) ISMN M-2056-1278-8
This magnificent piece, one of Gabrieli's finest, is scored for four groups made up as follows: TrSST ATBaSb MATB TrATSb and Organ. The third group is the Capella, i.e. the vocal choir; the highest group is probably originally for solo Tenor and three instruments: these could be cornetti or strings with an appropriate low instrument; the second group is surely for a solo Alto and three instruments, probably trombones with either a curtal (dulcian) or Bass trombone; the fourth group is hard to identify; either the Alto or the Tenor must be sung, the other voices are for instruments. The text is otherwise unknown but clearly refers to the Assumption.
Gabrieli, Giovanni, Omnes gentes EMP1249 £5.00
Ascension ISMN M-2056-1249-8
One of the best-known of Gabrieli's large-scale pieces. Its text derives from Psalm 46, from which are drawn many of the proper texts for the Feast of the Ascension. Its cleffing TrSMT ATBaSb MATB SATSb requires a minimum of three instruments, a cornett for the top line and two low instruments (Bass trombone or curtal/dulcian) for the low bass parts. However, the third choir is marked Capella, suggesting that this is a 4-part vocal choir; the other groups are probably intended for (I) Solo Tenor and 3 cornetti; (II) Solo Alto and three trombones, (IV) Solo Soprano and three trombones or strings. Instrumental parts are available on request.