Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
10 voices
a 10: see description Scoring legend
Gabrieli, Giovanni, Jubilate Deo a 10 (1615) EMP1276 £6.60
Office of the Dead - Respond ISMN M-2056-1276-4
This setting from Gabrieli’s posthumous 1615 collection of Symphoniae Sacrae, is – like the piece in the 1613 print - a setting of a composite text which seems to relate to the Nuptial Mass: it is not a straightforward setting of Psalm 100 (the Anglican’s ‘Jubilate’ from Matins.) The print specifies only two voices, Mezzosoprano (high countertenor) and Tenor, with the following instruments: 2 cornetti and bassoon, 5 trombones, and organ. All except the highest cornetto part (even the lowest Bass which descends to low C) are marked 'e Voce si placet', so the piece may be performed with as many singers are available.The overall cleffing is: MT (solo voices); TrSATTTBSb, org. It opens with an (optional) instrumental Sinfonia for all 10 instruments.
Alternative version(s):
EMP1686 Set of parts
Gabrieli, Giovanni, Jubilate Deo a 10 (1615) EMP1686 £22.00
Office of the Dead - Respond ISMN M-2056-1686-1
A set of parts.
Alternative version(s):
EMP1276 Full score