Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
a 13: see description Scoring legend
Gabrieli, Giovanni, Confitebor tibi Domine a 13 (1615) EMP1258 £5.80
Office of the Dead - Respond ISMN M-2056-1258-10
Scored for three choirs: SATTB SMABa SATB and organ. The third choir is as usual the vocal Capella. The other two choirs can perfectly well be sung - they are both in vocal clefs - but Ch I could be a solo Soprano and four instruments, Ch II a solo baritone and three instruments. Most of the concerted pieces are comparatively short; in this case the final section of the piece is repeated, giving it a length of about 5 minutes.
Hassler, Hans Leo, Coeli enarrant gloriam Dei a 13 EMP1279 £4.00
General Use - Psalm-Motet ISMN M-2056-1279-5
This splendid piece is scored for three groups made up as follows: TrSST ATTSb SATTB. The third group is the Capella, i.e. the vocal choir; the second group is surely for a solo Alto and three instruments, probably trombones with either a curtal (dulcian) or Bass trombone; the highest group is probably originally for solo Tenor and three instruments: these could be cornetti or strings. The text of Psalm 18 is often sung, but this large-scale festive setting, ending with the text 'et ipse tamquam sponsus procedens de thalamo suo' (as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber) was possibly intended for a wedding.