Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
10 voices
TrSMAT ATBaBB Scoring legend
Gabrieli, Giovanni, Quis est iste a 10 EMP1296 £5.00
Non-liturgical ISMN M-2056-1296-2
The piece was conceived for two groups, each with a solo voice and instruments. Thus, the high choir (Secundus Chorus) would probably have had a solo Tenor and four high instruments (strings or cornets); the low choir (called ‘Primus Chorus’ because it sings first) a solo Altus (countertenor) and four low instruments, probably trombones, with a bass trombone or curtal on the lowest part. The Basso per l’organo was not included in the original print, the source is a manuscript partbook in Augsburg written out in 1636, which includes the 1587 Concerti as well as the 1597 collection. It combines text from Isaiah 63 and Psalm 24, and was possibly composed for an extra-liturgical celebration in connection with the Feast of the Precious Blood (July 1).