Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
a 19: see description Scoring legend
Gabrieli, Giovanni, Buccinate in neomenia EMP1319 £5.90
Ascension ISMN M-2056-1319-8
Gabrieli’s Buccinate in neomenia is, with 19 parts or ‘voices‘ the largest-scale piece in his second set of Sacrae Symphoniae 1615. It is scored for four ‘choirs’ cleffed as follows: MATBSb TrSMABa ABBBSb SATB (Cap.)The parts specifically marked ‘Voce’ in the print are: the topmost voice in each of the low choirs, the lowest voice in the high choir (just as instructed by Michael Praetorius). Also typical is the choral Cappella with its pure vocal clefs SATB. Gabrieli’s performance ideal would therefore be something like: Solo Alto and three trombones; Solo Baritone (most unusual!) and four high instruments, from either the cornett or the violin family; Solo Alto and four trombones; Chorus with all remaining singers. The text is a composite one drawn from several psalms, but seems mostly applicable to Ascension: the piece was presumably composed fo the 'Sposalizio' ceremony in which the Doge symbolically married the sea on behalf of the Serenissima.