Edition Michael Procter

Renaissance choral music

Catalogue of editions by the late Michael Procter


Singers around the world will be pleased to know that Edition Michael Procter is available again, following the sad death of Michael Procter in 2012. His large collection of sacred choral music by renaissance composers is a very valuable resource for choirs, churches and music lovers.

There are an estimated 850 pieces in the catalogue (including versions offered in different transpositions), mostly transcribed by Michael from original sources in libraries all over Europe. These will be verified and re-catalogued over the next few years.

Orders and enquiries are welcome now at info@edition-mp.com and will be produced and sold by Peacock Press.

A note on prices

While the process of verification goes on, please treat these prices as indicative. Up to date prices can be obtained from info@edition-mp.com

Information and orders

For information and orders please contact

Scoring legend

For a popup explanation of the scoring symbols click any of the legend icon icons.

You can find composer biographies where you see the biography icon icon.

Our partner site ItalianMadrigal.com offers lots more Italian madrigals.

Many of these editions can be read and heard online. Just click where you see the Score icon icon. To see the music, you will need Sibelius Scorch, which is available free.

Many of these editions can be read, heard and downloaded at ScoreExchange.com

Title Catalogue number Price
7 voices
SSAATBB Scoring legend
Merulo, Claudio, Ecce Maria genuit EMP0519 £3.00
Christmas - Antiphon ISMN M-2056-0519-3
One of several pieces for seven voices in Merulo's Second Book of Motets. The text is a Vesper Antiphon on Christmas Day and its Octave, also for the Purification and in the Office of BVM. It refers to John Baptist seeing Christ and exclaiming: Behold the Lamb of God, who taketh away the sins of the world. It ends with a splendid triple-time Alleluia.
Merulo, Claudio, O altitudo divitiarum EMP0521 £3.00
Holy Trinity - Motet general ISMN M-2056-0521-6
One of several pieces for seven voices in Merulo's Second Book of Motets. The text from Rom. 11 occurs liturgically as a reading on the Feast of the Holy Trinity. Merulo's setting includes a wonderfully syncopated treatment of the word 'investigabiles' (inscrutable!).
Tallis, Thomas, Suscipe quaeso Domine Show the score EMP0696 £4.00
Penitential ISMN M-2056-0696-1
Presumed to have been composed to celebrate the lifting of the national excommunication of England upon the accession of Catholic Queen Mary, and to have been sung by the combined Chapels Royal of England and Spain, this is an eloquent, sombre and moving piece. Here it is transposed up a third to be more accessible to mixed choirs.
Alternative version(s):
EMP0309 Original pitch